2nd Semester Reflection

This semester, I worked towards developing a concentration to use for next year. I also tried to explore different mediums- including oil paint, acrylic, and ink- in order to see what worked best in conveying the ideas of my artwork. However, I have found that the pieces that look the best tend to be in colored pencil. I found that some of my best work was centered around the relationship between humans and nature- such as “Spaced Out” and “Butterflies”. I also tend to include the skeleton figure as a recurring character throughout my works. An aspect of my artwork that I have tried to improve this semester is the composition of my art. I noticed that I tend to gravitate towards the same composition- a main focal point as the foreground, and some sort of recurring pattern as the background. My goal is to move away from that composition and create work that is seamless and cohesive, rather than seeming to be in two parts.

Leave a Reply

